Connect with us


Golden Ball: Is it The End of Ronaldo and Messi Monopoly

Golden Ball

Many are likely to win the Golden Ball award, which France Football magazine revealed on Monday. The list included Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah, as well as Lionel Messi and Kylian Mbappe. The winner’s name will be announced on 3 December 2018.

Will Real Madrid player Luka Modric win the French Golden Ball award? after winning the FIFA World Player of the Year award?, and the best player in Europe and the World Cup? The answer will be on December 3.

France Football magazine reported on Monday the list of the 30 candidates for the award, most notably Modric, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Mohamed Salah, as well as other prominent players such as Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi, Antoine Griezmann, Neymar, and Luis Suarez.

The list included six players from the French national team crowned with the world cup title, goalkeeper Hugo Lloris and N’golo Kante, Paul Pogba and Mbappi and Raphael varane, who crowned with Real Madrid Champions League and Grazman, who led his team Atletico Madrid to the Europa League.

It also included three players from Belgium such as goalkeeper Tibo Cortua, and midfielder Kevin de Bruyne and Eden Hazard.

The winner of the award is announced on 3 December by a vote of journalists from around the world.

“France football” made changes related to the award system, as the scheduled vote between 9 October and 9 November, identifies the best of the list of 30 players, not 23, as has been the practice in last Versions. The intermediate stage in which the final list of three players is announced has also been Cancelled.

The award was limited to journalists, and two new awards were launched, the Golden Ball for the best female Player of the Year and the Kopa Cup, on the honor of former French star Raymond Kopa.

Paris Saint-Germain and France’s player 19-year-old world champion Mbappi are the most likely to win the first edition of the 10-man competition, including Lyon striker Houssem Aouar, Liverpool Trent Alexander-Arnold, Milan Patrick Crotone, teammate Gianluigi Donnarumma, and Borussia Dortmund Christian Pulisic.

Ronaldo and Messi have monopolized the prize over the past 10 years (5 each).

Sports News

More in News